New commissioners sworn in

Five incumbents returning to the St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners were sworn in for their two-year terms by County Clerk Pattie Bender this week.

Rick Shaffer, John Dobberteen, Al Balog, Don Eaton and Robin Baker were sworn in during a brief ceremony prior to Tuesday’s county commission meeting. Balog, Eaton and Baker ran unopposed in the August primary, while Dobberteen and Shaffer ended off challenges from Jerry Ware and Barry Miller, respectively.

The county board is being reduced to five members starting in 2013 based on the redrawing of district boundaries by the five-member Apportionment Committee.

On an unrelated matter, the county commission agreed to move its next meeting to Jan. 2, one day later than usual.

Check Also

Colon hosts cook-off event

Magic City Grill Fest, a cook-off event in downtown Colon, starts at 11 a.m. Saturday. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *