New chairperson on COA Board

Margaret Shultz has been elected as chairperson of the St. Joseph County Commission on Aging (COA) Board of Directors.

Shultz, former Community Resources Coordinator for the Department of Human Services (DHS) in St. Joseph and Cass counties, retired from that position last July after 38 years with DHS. She is now serving in a part-time capacity as the Volunteer Services Specialist for the St. Joseph County United Way and has been vice-chairperson of the COA Board in recent months. She succeeds Jean Skalski, another DHS retiree and veteran COA Board member who chose not to seek appointment to another term.

Other officers elected during the COA Board’s June meeting Wednesday (June 19) are:

Jon Withers, vice-chair

Charles Willer, treasurer

Deb Leyes, secretary.

The meeting also brought recognition of Skalski and two other longtime COA Board members who are stepping down after many years of service – Beverly Burnham and Lillian Carter. Earlier in the meeting, correspondence was noted reporting action by the St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners to reappoint three persons to the COA Board – Allen Balog and Barbara Fisher for two years, and Deb Leyes for one year.

Check Also

TR Commercial-News will stop publication

A Three Rivers institution for more than a century is closing this week. The Three …