County Commission races on today’s ballot

A number of decisions concerning local government will be made during today’s primary election.
Polls are open until 8 o’clock tonight.
Leading the way are two contested races for county commission.
District 2 incumbent Don Eaton, a Burr Oak Township resident, is being challenged by Mendon residents Chad Behrens and Kathy Pangle. All three are running as Republicans.
The district is made up of Park, Mendon, Leonidas, Colon and Burr Oak townships.
District 3 voters will choose a successor to Rick Shaffer, who is not seeking re-election.
Republican contestants are Centreville residents Dennis Allen and Heather Bright, and Three Rivers-area resident John Hyden. Today’s winner will face off in November against Democrat Tim Carls, of Florence Township.
Lockport, Nottawa, Florence and Sherman townships comprise District 3.
Incumbent Allen Balog, a Republican, and Cody Sharpe, a Democrat, both are uncontested today but will meet in the November general election for District 1.
Meanwhile, commissioner John Dobberteen and newcomer Dan Czajkowski are unopposed as representatives of districts 5 and 4, respectively. Czajkowski will replace Robin Baker, who chose to not seek re-election.
County commissioners are paid $7,800 a year.

Check Also

White Pigeon Days begins today!

The third of St. Joseph County’s eight community festivals starts today, as White Pigeon Days …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *