County commission names chairman

Dennis Allen will serve as chairman of the St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners in 2018.

Commissioners agreed Tuesday to appoint the 62-year-old Allen head of the five-member panel. He replaces, Allen Balog, who was named vice chairman.

Allen, who is starting his second year on the board, said he appreciates the confidence of his elected peers.

Allen, whose district covers Florence, Lockport, Nottawa and Sherman townships, said he is fortunate to have available the knowledge and expertise of county administrator Teresa Doehring and the experience of Balog.

Allen at the end of the meeting said he is committed to bringing back civility, trust and transparency to the county board.

Check Also

Constantine – Engineering agreement for proposed waste-treatment plant

Members of the Constantine Village Council have approved an engineering service agreement for its proposed …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *