St. Joseph County declared disaster area

St. Joseph County is one of 17 counties in the state to be declared a disaster area as the result of flooding from heavy rain and melting snow.

Gov. Rick Snyder’s office said Monday’s declarations make state resources available to those areas, including grants of up to $100,000 for reimbursement of local response costs to the flooding, which peaked over a three-day period beginning Feb. 19.

The state police Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division is coordinating damage-recovery efforts and working with local emergency management agencies in the areas affected by the flooding.

Disaster declarations were also made for Barry, Cass and Kalamazoo counties.

Check Also

County commission takes tour of courts building

St. Joseph County commissioners this week got a first-hand look at the many needs of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.