Filing deadline passes for August ballot

Tuesday was the filing deadline for county commission seats, and other local and state positions appearing on the August primary ballot.

Barring a write-in candidate, Republican county commissioners Allen Balog and Kathy Pangle will be uncontested. They are seeking two-year terms; Balog represents the city of Three Rivers, and Fabius and Flowerfield townships, while Pangle’s jurisdiction covers Burr Oak, Colon, Leonidas and Park townships.

First-term commissioner Dan Czajkowski, whose district takes in Constantine, Mottville and White Pigeon townships, is a Republican who will be challenged Aug. 7 to the two-year term by a fellow Republican. Czajkowski, who lives in White Pigeon, faces Constantine Township resident Joshua Goodrich.

Goodrich filed his paperwork Tuesday.

Centreville resident Dennis Allen currently serves as board chairman and is in the midst of his first two-year term. He will square off against the Democratic winner of the August primary vote. Vying to face Allen in November are Nottawa Township resident Judy Nelson and Florence Township’s Tim Carls.

The district is comprised of Lockport, Nottawa, Florence and Sherman townships.

Hoping to replace outgoing commissioner John Dobberteen are Republican Ken Malone and Democrat Richard Homan.

The Sturgis residents are pursuing the two-year seat and will presumably meet in November to represent the district that covers the city of Sturgis and Fawn River Township.

No candidates filed to contest judges Paul Stutesman, Rob Pattison and David Tomlinson.

Check Also

Conservation Fest event planned

Here’s a reminder that the St. Joseph County Conservation District is sponsoring a one-day event …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.