Election results – St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners

Two incumbents will join Sturgis resident Ken Malone to the St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners following Tuesday’s vote.

A strong voter turnout saw Centreville resident Dennis Allen defeat Judy Nelson of Nottawa Township. Allen, the current board chairman, will be back to represent District 3, which covers Lockport, Nottawa, Florence and Sherman townships.

The other incumbent, White Pigeon’s Dan Czajkowski, fended off a challenge from Sturgis Township resident Liz O’Dell in the District 4 race. The jurisdiction comprises Constantine, Mottville, White Pigeon and Sturgis townships.

Commissioners Allen Balog (Flowerfield and Fabius townships, and the city of Three Rivers) and Kathy Pangle (Park, Mendon, Leonidas, Colon and Burr Oak townships) ran uncontested.

Malone is still a city commissioner until Nov. 12, then he’ll get sworn in as a county commissioner Jan. 2. He defeated Richard Homan by a 2-to-1 margin. Both Malone and Homan are Sturgis residents.

Check Also

Michigan coronavirus case increase

New coronavirus cases increased 5.6 percent in Michigan in the week ending May 22, as …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.