Newest county commissioner sworn in

St. Joseph County Board of Commissioners will see its leadership remain steady in 2021.

Commissioners approved Dennis Allen, 61, to continue serving as chair of the five-member board. Allen, a Centreville resident who represents Florence, Lockport, Nottawa and Sherman townships, will oversee the board for the fourth consecutive year.

Meanwhile, Kathy Pangle, starting her fifth year as a county commissioner, was nominated to serve as vice-chair for the second consecutive year. Pangle represents Burr Oak, Colon, Leonidas, Mendon and Park townships.

In a related matter, commissioners welcomed Jared Hoffmaster to the board. Hoffmaster, who represents the city of Three Rivers, and Flowerfield and Fabius townships, was sworn in virtually by clerk Lindsay Oswald.

Hoffmaster, who previously served six years as a member of the Three Rivers City Commission, replaces Allen Balog, who did not seek re-election.

Hoffmaster lives in Fabius Township.

Check Also

Guard activated at Michigan Capitol amid increased security

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer activated the National Guard, the state police continued to augment its presence …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *