County commission candidates file for August primary

One county commission incumbent will be contested in August’s primary election and another district will feature a two-person race.

Filing deadline for county commission candidates was Tuesday and a total of nine Republicans are running for seven seats.

The expansion from five to seven seats starting in 2023 came as a result of last year’s once-a-decade county reapportionment.

Incumbents Jared Hoffmaster, Dennis Allen, Ken Malone and Kathy Pangle all filed in hopes of securing another two-year term.

Former commissioner Rick Shaffer is uncontested in a bid to serve a newly created district. It is comprised of Florence and Lockport townships, and portions of Fabius Township and a section of Three Rivers.

Meanwhile, Terry Conklin Jr. is the only person to file for the other new district. It is made up of Burr Oak and Fawn River townships, portions of Sturgis and Colon townships, and a segment of the city of Sturgis.

With incumbent Dan Czajkowski not seeking a fourth term, newcomers Luis Rosado and David Hayslip will square off in a race to serve the district made up of Constantine, Mottville and White Pigeon townships. Rosado is a White Pigeon Township resident, while Hayslip lives in Constantine Township.

Pangle, chair of the board who is in her sixth year as a county commissioner, is being challenged by Rusty Baker. Pangle lives in Mendon; Baker resides in Mendon Township.

The primary election is Aug. 2.

Check Also

Generator stolen in Lockport Township

A generator was stolen earlier this week from a location in Lockport Township. Sheriff Mark …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.